A child who is 9 years old or is in the third grade is a Bear, and their adventures are found in the Bear Handbook. If a child is a new Cub Scout, they first earn the Bobcat badge. After completing the requirements for Bobcat they go on to complete the requirements for the Bear rank.


  1. With your parent or guardian, complete the exercises in the pamphlet How to Protect Your Children From Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide, and earn the Cyber Chip award for your age (must be refreshed annually).

  2. Complete each of the following required adventures with your den or family:

    • Bear Claws

    • Bear Necessities

    • Fellowship and Duty to God

    • Fur, Feathers, and Ferns

    • Grin and Bear It

    • Paws for Action

  3. Complete one Bear Adventure Elective of your den or family’s choosing.


  1. Shirt—The official blue uniform shirt is available with long or short sleeves and has button-flap pockets.

  2. Pants— Shorts, long pants, and roll up pants all are in official blue.

  3. Belt—Official navy-blue web belt with metal buckle.

  4. Socks—Official socks are available in three lengths: ankle, crew, and knee. Bear socks have a yellow band on the top.

  5. Hat—Official blue hat with orange front and Bear emblem.

  6. Neckerchief—Light blue triangular neckerchief with Bear logo. Official BSA neckerchiefs are the only neckerchiefs that are part of the uniform.  

  7. Neckerchief Slide—Official gold-tone metal slide with red Bear emblem. Cub Scouts may wear handmade neckerchief slides.

    Cub Scout Pack 651, Adamstown, Maryland

    Chartered by the Carroll Manor Fire Company
    National Capital Area Council | Boy Scouts of America

    Pack 651 will not deny membership in our program to any youth or adult leader on the basis of sexual orientation, race, ethnicity, religion, disability, or economic status.