A child who is in the fourth or fifth grade is a Webelos Scout, and their adventures are found in the Webelos Handbook.

If a child is a new Cub Scouts they first earn the Bobcat badge. After completing the requirements for Bobcat they go on to complete the requirements for the Webelos rank and then onto the Arrow of Light and the many electives that are offered.  If a child joins in the fourth grade they earn the Webelos rank and then the Arrow of Light.  If a child joins in the fifth grade they may start working on the Arrow of Light without earning the Webelos rank first.

The Webelos program is designed to prepare Cub Scouts to join a Scouts BSA Troop in February of their fifth grade year.  This gives time for new Scouts to get familiar with the Troop and time to prepare for summer camp.


  1. The Webelos rank is earned by completing the requirements as described below.

  2. Be an active member of your Webelos den for three months. (Being active means having good attendance, paying your den dues, and working on den projects.)

  3. Complete each of the following Webelos required adventures with your den or family:

    • a. Cast Iron Chef

    • b. Duty to God and You

    • c. First Responder

    • d. Stronger, Faster, Higher

    • e. Webelos Walkabout

  4. Complete one Webelos elective adventures of your den or family’s choosing.
    With your parent, guardian, or other caring adult, complete the exercises in the pamphlet How to Protect Your Children From Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide.
    Earn the Cyber Chip award for your age. (The Cyber Chip portion of this requirement may be waived by your parent or
    guardian if you do not have access to the internet.)


  1. Shirt—The official tan uniform shirt is available with long or short sleeves and has button-flap pockets.

  2. Pants— The official green shorts, long pants and roll up pants.

  3. Belt—Official navy-blue web belt with metal buckle or the green web belt with BSA buckle is acceptable for the 2018-19 program year.

  4. Socks—Official green socks are available in three lengths: ankle, crew, and knee. 

  5. Hat—Official green hat with Webelos plaid front and Webelos emblem.

  6. Neckerchief—Webelos plaid triangular neckerchief with Webelos logo. Official BSA neckerchiefs are the only neckerchiefs that are part of the uniform. 

  7. Neckerchief Slide—Official gold-tone metal slide with Webelos emblem. Cub Scouts may wear handmade neckerchief slides.

  8. Webelos Colors - The Webelos Colors is an optional uniform piece that is worn on the right sleeve to display the Webelos Adventure Pins that have been earned.  If the Webelos Colors are not used, Webelos Adventure Pins may be worn on the Webelos hat.

    Cub Scout Pack 651, Adamstown, Maryland

    Chartered by the Carroll Manor Fire Company
    National Capital Area Council | Boy Scouts of America

    Pack 651 will not deny membership in our program to any youth or adult leader on the basis of sexual orientation, race, ethnicity, religion, disability, or economic status.